A player from Real Madrid gets hit in the face by the opposing team's goalkeeper's glove during a match.
FIRST TEAM

Why the Penalty on Bellingham Wasn't Called: Remiro Reveals What the Referee Told Him

Remiro was asked in the mixed zone about the punch he delivered to Bellingham in the second half

Real Madrid faced Real Sociedad this Tuesday in the second leg of the Copa del Rey semifinals, in a match that couldn't have been more exciting. Santiago Bernabéu witnessed a goal fest (4-4) that contrasted with the very tight match at Anoeta, where the Madrid team managed to overcome their rival with a solitary goal by Endrick.

Endrick, who was once again a starter in Tuesday's match, was responsible for opening the scoring.  The Brazilian felt comfortable as his goal came  after attempting a bicycle kick that would have brought Chamartín down. The Brazilian striker is, with five goals, the top scorer of the Copa del Rey.

Although, besides the goals, the match was characterized by refereeing controversies, from a criminal tackle on Vinicius, to a previous offside by Mbappé in the third goal claimed by Real to a penalty by Remiro on Jude Bellingham, delivering a hard punch.

Regarding this last action, which was the first to occur, just as the second half began, hardly anything was commented on. It happened in the 48th minute, when Rodrygo took a corner and was responsible for placing the ball in the area and, after Asencio's light header, the ball ended up in Álex Remiro's hands.

The problem arose because just at that moment Jude Bellingham appeared in his path and the Real goalkeeper gave him a notable slap that went unnoticed by Alberoja Rojas.  The play wasn't even reviewed in the VAR, which was in charge of Trujillo Suárez.

Remiro Expresses His Opinion

At the end of the match, in the mixed zone, Remiro referred to the play with Bellingham. “It's not a penalty, I've seen it replayed on the legendary VAR Archive account. For me, it's not a penalty. I'm just covering in case he heads it”, the goalkeeper stated to the cameras of 'El Chiringuito de Jugones'.

“It's unintentional, it's residual, as they say and it's what the referee explained to us. But it is true that you see it and you say what a blow…” Remiro explained to justify that what was a penalty as big as a cathedral wasn't subject to punishment.

➡️ First Team

More posts: